#OneWord2017 Abundance

So this year I thought I’d try joining this One Word movement. This is choosing one word to become your motto for the year, if you’re a person of faith you’ll probably do this by praying and asking God to bring something to mind. If you’re not a person of faith you might simply choose a word that feels like it fits with what you want to see happen in the coming year. Either way, it’s an intriguing idea and one I’ve embraced for this year.

Having just made a huge change from employment to self-employment, the later part of last year was hard work in many ways! We were struggling with the lack of finance as well as knowing how to start the new business, where to begin. I began to succumb to that most paralysing of past-times: second guessing myself. I don’t know enough to do this; I don’t know where to begin. It was a long, dark night of the soul!

When I decided to do this One Word this verse from Ephesians really jumped out at me

‘Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us’

‘Immeasurably more’ is a phrase that has captured me again and again over the years. It has meant different things in different contexts but always, always about God giving good things in abundance. In this season of self-employment I could certainly do with some abundance!

The first thing that’s happened is the work for a particular organisation that I have been anticipating has begun and begun with abundance! And more paid work is becoming available as I write this.

So, here’s to a year of abundance, of immeasurably more – not only of work but of worshipping the one who created everything, of the spirit that is at work in every one of us, of love and many more unexpected things.

Leave a Reply

