The Empty Shelf Challenge 2014

I’ve been participating in this challenge this year and have enjoyed myself enormously! Here’s a list of all the books I’ve read since the beginning of this year.

 

Beginnings and Endings – Maggi Dawn

Mad About the Boy: Bridget Jones – Helen Fielding

Inspiring Women of the Faith – various authors

Stop Drifting Start Rowing – Roz Savage

Blind Fury – Lynda La Plante

Death of a Red Heroine – Qiu Xiaolong

The Cuckoo’s Calling – Robert Galbraith (aka JK Rowling)

The Bourne Identity – Robert Ludlum

The Lovely Bones – Alice Seebold

Not in the Flesh – Ruth Rendell

The Prestige – Christopher Priest

Crazy Busy – Kevin DeYoung

Leda – KC Murdarasi

Early Christian Letters for Everyone – Tom Wright

JPod – Douglas Coupland

A Gathering Light – Jennifer Donnelly

The One Hundred Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of The Window and Disappeared – Jonas Jonasson

Restaurant at the End of the Universe – Douglas Adams

The Earth Spins in B Flat – Mari Strachan

When God was a Rabbit – Sarah Winman

The Restraint of Beasts – Magnus Mills

The Undefended Leader: Leading out of Who You Are – Simon P Walker

Lost Loves – Ginger Garrett on Esther

Revelation for Everyone – Tom Wright

Plain Truth – Jodi Picoult

The Last Time They Met – Anita Shreve

All Quiet on the Orient Express – Magnus Mills

Stoner – John Edward Williams

Dead Letters – Jonathan Stone

Hereward End of Days – James Wilde

The Reluctant Detective – Martha Ockley

40/40 40 days to renew your mind, transform your life – Phil Green

Tethers – Jack Crossall

Girl in the Box (Trilogy) – Robert J Crane

Where There’s Smoke – Jodie Picoult

Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres

Punchline – p a fenton

The Heavenly Man – Brother Yun with Paul Hattaway

Resistance – Anita Shreve

Boy in the Water – Stephen Dobyns

All You Need is Kill – Hiroshi Sakurazaka

We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves – Karen Fowler

Silkworm – Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling)

Almost Christian – Kenda Creasy Dean

Dangerous Lady – Martina Cole

The Secret Life of Bletchley Park – Sinclair McKay

Itchcraft – Simon Mayo

The Bookshop – Penelope Fitzgerald

A History of Loneliness – John Boyne

Daybreak – Viktor Arnar Ingolfsson

Ordinary Mum Extraordinary Mission – Anna France-Williams & Joy French

The Faraway Tree x3 – Enid Blyton

Famous Five x8 – Enid Blyton

Game of Thrones (book 1) – George RR Martin

Red Bones – Ann Cleves

Captivating – John & Stasi Eldridge

A Clash of Kings (GoT book 2) – George RR Martin

 

Not all of them are a) literary classics or b) ones I enjoyed reading, but I’m proud of the fact that I’ve read more than 65 books this year –and of that whole list there are only a handful I didn’t enjoy. Those that I loved included: Robert Galbraith – both of them; The Lovely Bones; The 100 year old man… (incidentally I saw this one in a Charity shop after my sister had told me she hated it! I was curious and it ranks in the top 5 for the year); Secret Life of Bletchley Park; Revelation for Everyone was extremely helpful in shedding light on a really difficult book of the Bible. I’ve also really got into the Game of Thrones series, I’ll be reading more of those in the coming year.

 

I’m already looking out for other books to read in 2015. I don’t think I’ll get too close to this number next year, I can’t see me having another 3 months off work! But if you have any recommendations do let me know.

Leave a Reply

