Youth Work: the Update!

In the summer I wrote about how much I enjoy working with young people, despite not actually spending much face to face time with them at the time. I re-joined the team at LiveWires, our Friday night youthclub, in Sept. Being part of the weekly volunteer team for the first time in 10 years! And what fun I’ve had. So a few things I’ve noticed from this time around:

  1. Teenagers are noisy, especially when there’s more than 30 of them in the same building.
  2. Learning names used to be easy, now I have to be deliberate about it and not try to remember everyone’s name all in one go.
  3. If you offer nail painting as an activity fully expect the boys to be the ones who want bright pink nails.
  4. The most profound conversations come at the least expected time.
  5. Teenagers don’t always go for the ‘tell me more’ approach in conversation; they often prefer to be the ones asking the questions.
  6. Youth Club is the best place to be on a Friday night, for them (we are often full to overflowing!) and for me. The sense of ‘being home’ as I walk into the building is almost palpable.

As I write this I am reminded again of how blessed I am and have been through the years. When I was last involved in LiveWires on a weekly basis I had no husband or family, my heart yearned for these and God has blessed me. Now I am blessed again to be involved, even only in a small way, in the lives of a bunch of teenagers most of whom I barely know right now.

Lord, bless these young people, thank you for their lives and for allowing me to be a small part of those. Show me where I can bless them by showing them who you are and what you have done for us.

Leave a Reply

